Standard Bank - BOL to Wallet

President Chakwera Names 31 Member Cabinet

President Chakwera Names 31 Member Cabinet

President Lazarus Chakwera Wednesday evening named a 31-member Cabinet, which comprises 23 full ministers and 8 Deputy Ministers.

In a statement released by Chief Secretary to the Government, Zangazanga Chikhosi, the full Cabinet has a total of 16 Members of Parliament, with the other appointments coming from various sectors.

Among other notable appointments, the President has named UTM Vice President, Michael Usi, and MCP Vice President, Sidick Mia as Ministers of Tourism, Culture, and Wildlife, and Transport and Public Works, respectively.

The president has also appointed Secretaries-General for the two parties, Patricia Kaliyati (UTM) and Eisenhower Mkaka (MCP), as Minister of Community Development and Social Welfare, and Minister of Foreign Affairs respectively.

The notable non-politicians in the Cabinet include the Managing Director for Zodiak Broadcasting Station (ZBS), Gospel Kazako, who has been named as Minister of Information. The President has also named former Chairperson for Human Rights Defenders Coalition, Timothy Mtambo as Minister of Civic Education and National Unity, and lawyer Titus Mvalo as Minister of Justice.

There are also notable returnees to Cabinet. Former Minister of Finance under the Bingu wa Mutharika administration, Ken Kandodo has been named as Minister of Labour, while Rashid Gaffar, who also once served as deputy Minister under the same administration has returned as Minister of Mining. Roy Kachale Banda, son to former President Joyce Banda has also made the list as Minister of Industry.

The President has also named other appointments to the heads of Reserve Bank, the Malawi Revenue Authority, and the National Intelligence Service.

Dr. Wilson T. Banda has replaced Dr. Dalitso Kabambe as Governor of the Central Bank, while John Bizwick has been appointed as Commissioner General for the revenue collecting body. Dokani Ngwira has been named as Director-General for the National Intelligence Service.


Read 4194 times

Last modified on Thursday, 09/07/2020

Login to post comments
Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework